Wednesday, 13 October 2010

Gibson Welcomes moves to ease social housing pressure in Caithness

News comment

Immediate comment


Highlands and island SNP MSP Rob Gibson has welcomed steps from

the SNP Scottish Government to solve a shortage of affordable

housing in the West of Caithness.

Commenting on the announcement by Housing & Communities

Minister Alex Neil Mr Gibson said...

"This is welcome news from the Scottish Government and shows

that the SNP are aware of the dire situation regarding

affordable housing and are acting to alleviate the problem."

"To extend the pressured area status to include many

communities in Caithness is the right move and shows that the

extent of the problem that exists. Affordable housing is an

important issue to many and I am warmly welcome the steps from

the SNP Government to solve the problem."


Note to editor


Right to Buy changed significantly when the Housing (Scotland)

Act 2001 reduced and capped discount levels, extended the

qualifying period to five years and introduced the pressured

area mechanism.

The pressured area designation lasts for 5 years and by

designating the following areas, the Modernised Right to Buy

will be suspended for tenants with modernised tenancies for the

majority of communities in Highland for a period of five years.

The exception being Caithness where the Modernised Right to Buy

suspension would only apply to Thurso and small neighbouring

communities within the Thurso settlement zone.

Renewal of the existing suspension of the Modernised Right to

Buy includes the following 'Pressured Area' designated communities:

* All communities in Badenoch & Strathspey.

* Communities in the Inverness Area (except Merkinch and Hilton).

* Communities in Lochaber (except Kinlochleven; the Plantation

estate and the three streets of Carn Dearg; The Corries and

Polmona in Claggan).

* All communities in Nairn.

* Communities in Ross & Cromarty (except Alness, Aultbea,

Balintore and Milton).

* All communities in Skye and Lochalsh.

In addition, suspension of the Modernised Right to Buy will

also expand to include the following communities:

* Merkinch and Hilton in Inverness;

* Kinlochleven; the remaining streets in Fort William i.e.

Plantation estate and the streets of Carn Dearg; The Corries

and Polmona in Claggan

* Alness, Aultbea; Milton and Balintore;

* Sutherland;

* Thurso and the small neighbouring communities within the

Thurso settlement zone1 (i.e. Forss; Geise; Glengolly;

Janetstown; Scrabster;

Weydale) in Caithness.

1 Settlement Zones in Highland are geographical areas based on

the historical catchment areas of schools and are used to

define community areas.

No comments: